Ella Johnson Memorial Public Library District
  • My Account
  • Databases

    Research Links


    Click on one of the categories below to find more specific online resources.

    General Research

    Britannica Library: The Encyclopaedia Britannica enhanced with research tools, history highlights, and current news.

    Gale Virtual Reference: Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a world of reliable information for students, academics, and the general public. This includes titles in areas such as arts, biography, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, religion, science, technology, and more. Gale Virtual Reference is available in the library or from any remote location. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    Consumer Reports: ConsumerReports.org enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to peruse the latest consumer news. If asked to enter your Patron ID please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    OmniFile Full Text: OmniFile Full Text is a 100% full-text database. Retrieve complete articles, cover to cover, from over 2,700 publications in science, the humanities, art, business, law, library and information science, plus popular magazines. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    NoveList Plus: NoveList Plus is a database of reading recommendations for Adults and Teens. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. It is a great way to find a similar book to one you loved! If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    NoveList Plus K8: NoveList Plus K8 is a database of reading recommendations for kids. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. It is a great way to find more books for reluctant readers! If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    PrairieCat Catalog: PrairieCat is an online library catalog that searches for books, movies, audiobooks, music, eresources, and more available at the Ella Johnson Memorial Library and libraries in the northern Illinois region. Ella Johnson library cardholders can place holds, renew and check their account online.

    WorldCat Catalog: WorldCat is an online library catalog that searches for books, movies, audiobooks, music, eresources, and more available in libraries worldwide. Ella Johnson library cardholders can request that items found in WorldCat be borrowed through interlibrary loan. Requests can be made using an online form, in person, by telephone, or by e-mail.
    Back to top

    Education/ Career

    ABCmouse: ABCmouse.com: With more than 4,000 interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities, ABCmouse.com’s award-winning online curriculum is the most comprehensive online educational resource for young learners (ages 2–7+). From Age of Learning, Inc. Free for use in our library.

    AtoZdatabases: AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    Best Schools: BestSchools.com is created to help students understand the college landscape. They go beyond the numbers to see where education is going, from the cutting edge tools in use today, to truly understanding all the resources available to students.

    DigitalLearn: DigitalLearn.org, is an Institute of Museum and Library Services grant-funded project to create an online hub for digital literacy support and training. DigitalLearn.org is being undertaken in partnership with ALA’s Office of Information Technology Policy and Chief Officers of State Library Agencies, as well as bringing together a diverse group of stakeholders including representatives from national agencies, state libraries, public libraries, community organizations, and many others. Included in DigitalLearn.org is a collection of self-directed tutorials for end-users to increase their digital literacy, and a community of practice for digital literacy trainers to share resources, tools and best practices.

    Guide to Online Schools: Guide to Online Schools provides free, thoroughly-researched information covering over 25,122 online degree programs from 587 accredited schools. This comprehensive resource includes detailed degree and tuition information along with data-driven college rankings. Also has an accreditation checker, which prospective students can use to find out if a college they are interested in is accredited by the U.S. Department of Education.

    Gale Career Transitions: Gale Career Transitions provides access to a variety of information on choosing a career and finding a job. Skills and interests are assessed to find industries and fields that complement. Cover letters and resumes creation can also be done using this resource. Patrons may create a profile that they can return to at any time. Gale Career Transitions is available in the library or from any remote location. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    Khan AcademyKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We’ve also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.

    Lynda.com: Lynda.com leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. To sign in enter the library’s web address (ellajohnsonlibrary.org) and then, when prompted, enter your library card number and PIN number.

    Mango Languages: Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. You don’t have to sign up; just enter your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode in the box and click “Start Learning.”

    MUZZY: MUZZY is the world’s #1 language course for children, featuring popular animated characters, rich immersion methodology, and engaging stories, games and exercises. The award winning program now has a whole new generation of interactive content that will emerge for today’s tech-savvy children and all levels of early language learners worldwide. Please use your 14-digit library card number to access Muzzy Club. If you are on a mobile device, the Login and Password are both EllaJohnson.

    Testing & Education Reference Center: The Testing & Education Reference Center is a start-to-finish resource with all the information and support materials needed to succeed in education. There are over 300 practice tests and courses, dozens of ebooks with valuable material, information on over 4,000 accredited schools, a scholarship search, and even a resume builder! You can select help by your school level. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    TumbleBooks: Check out Tumblebooks, an online ebook library just for kids!

    Tutor.com: Tutor.com is a fully online tutoring service. You can get a tutor 24/7 in more than 40 subjects including Math, Science, Social Studies, English, AP ® Support, Foreign Languages and Business. Tutoring sessions take place in our easy-to-use online classroom, which runs in your web browser.

    The Ultimate Guide to Windows 10 Troubleshooting: This is the most extensive and comprehensive guide to troubleshooting and solving common problems in Windows 10. From simple issues like customizing your Start menu to complex solutions for fixing the Blue Screen of Death – we have you covered! The guides are thorough, proven, easy-to-follow and supported with helpful screenshots that will guide you through every step of the process.
    Back to top

    Antiques and Hobbies

    Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center: This database offers detailed, full text “how-to” instructions and creative ideas from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter’s World and many more. If asked to enter your Patron ID please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    Price It! Antiques and Collectibles: Price It includes stories and articles from some of the best-known authors and authorities in the antiques and collectibles industry. You can read interesting and informative articles on a wide array of subjects including repair, restoration and conservation of antiques, hiring an appraiser and many specific areas of collecting. You can browse by category or do a keyword search. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.
    Back to top

    Genealogy

    Ancestry: Ancestry provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from North America, the U.K., Europe, Australia, and more. The database also includes census records, birth marriage and death records and US military records. In-library use only.

    HeritageQuest: HeritageQuest is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. There is coverage dating back to the 1700s includes census data, Revolutionary War information and African-American records. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    This is Who We Were: In the 1920s: This resource explores American life in the 1920s. This new series is sure to be of value as both a serious research tool for students of American history as well as an intriguing climb up America’s family tree.

    Back to top

    Legal Documents

    Illinois Public Records: Access Illinois public records through online databases. Look up real estate transactions, copies of mortgages, business licenses, and foreclosure records. These databases are great for getting an extra copy of mortgage or deed information, tracking down the status of a property in foreclosure, or looking up specific business information. Public records are provided by Record Information Services. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.

    Legal Forms: Access to thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. The database includes Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.
    Back to top

    People and Business Search

    AtoZdatabases: AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! If asked to enter your password please use your entire 14 digit Ella Johnson Library barcode.
    Back to top